+33 (0)1 30 86 25 91

Château du Val ~ St Germain en Laye

Château du Val

SMLH ~ Société des Membres de la Légion d'Honneur

SMLH ~ Société des Membres de la Légion d'Honneur
Le parc
Promenandes devant le Chateau du Val
Le petit Bassin Sud Château du Val
Déco
Façade Sud
Le Roi Soleil
Dans la cour
Grille Royale Nord Château du Val
Le Chateau du val
Dans le parc
Vue Nord Est Château du Val
Le Chateau de Saint Germain en Laye
Déco
Château du Val vue Sud
Cédre du Lyban en hiver
Facade Sud
Facade
Louis XIV
Historique du Château du Val
Général DUBAIL & Gaston DOUMERGUE
Jules Hardouin-Mansart
Cour Royale Nord Château du Val
Terrasse de la Conciergerie
Cédre du Lyban en été
Vue Sud Château du Val
La Verriere

A magical and historical place...

Frequented by François I, Henri II, Louis XIV and Louis XV, "la Maison du Val", also called "Maison de Carrières sous Bois" (actually Château du Val), was originally one of the numerous hunting pavilion of Saint-Germain-en-Laye forest.
It's during the first half of Louis XIV‘s reign, that a second life started for the little hunting lodge. The king is, at that time, looking for a place of residence near Paris.

In January 1666, Louis XIV decides to leave Paris and turns Saint-Germain-en-Laye in his main place of residence. He will leave Saint-Germain-en-Laye to go to Versailles in April 1682.

Around 1675, upon Louis XIV order, Jules Hardouin-Mansart replaces this simple house "La Maison du Val" by a little Castle that ends the development of this wandering alley that the Great Saint-Germain-en-Laye Terrace is, and where the king could find rest and solitude.

For Louis XIV, this relatively humble building is the occasion to challenge Hardouin-Mansart’s talent.
The final transfer of the Royal court to Versailles in 1862 leads to the abandonment of the "Château du Val", until successive rights of stay were given by Louis XV to several noble families, especially to the Prince – Maréchal of France Charles Just of Beauvau-Craon and to his second wife Marie-Charlotte Sylvie, born Rohan.

During the second half of the XVIII century, the "Château du Val" became a well-know "salon".
A lot of receptions were given, and literary and philosophical salon took place there.

Several noble families lived there, so as the old Brancas Duchess, le Count of La Marck and the Countess, born Noailles.
Naturally, numerous famous persons of the financial, political, artistic and literary world are staying or welcomed here. That is how in 1764, the young Mozart stays a few days in the Saint-Germain-en-Laye Castle and would likely have gone to the "Château du Val".
Followed by personalities such as Voltaire, Rousseau, Diderot, ...

In 1926, the "Château du Val" is sold by the Count Oscar of Reinach-Cessac to the Sirs Dumien and Lacoste. The latter being entitled legionnaire, decides to offer the Castle to General Dubail, Great Chancellor of the Order of the Legion of Honor and creator of the SEMLH (Society of the members of the Order of the Legion of Honor), for it to become the retiring house of this institution.
This retiring House inauguration ceremony took place on October 8th, 1927 led by Mister Gaston Doumergue, President of the French Republic, Grand Master of the Order of the Legion of Honor, assisted by the General Dubail and the Admiral Le Bris, President of the Order of the Legion of Honor’s members support group.

This residence is extended in 1935, as well as in 1955 through the construction of several annex buildings.

Nowadays, the "Château du Val" possesses several salons which have regain their luster of yesteryear, a library of nearly 14 000 works, among which some are dated from the XVIII century, a 3 star hotel and a restaurant. Each year, renovation works is planned in order to straighten and maintain the Castle in good condition.


...in a rich cultural surrounding!

Saint-Germain-en-Laye, city lying next to Paris, is inviting you to unforgettable walks, on numerous trails, one can access on foot or by bike from its state forest.

Our property is the starting point of "Sentier de Découverte du Val" to lead you to the "Mare aux Canes", or even at the foot of some remarkable trees as the "15 hearts beeches" or else close to the remnants of the Little Park’s wall. Other wanders will also bring you to the not to be missed Terrace of Saint-Germain-en-Laye built by the famous architect, André Le Nôtre.

On the sports side, many sport activities are waiting for you. Swimming enthusiastic will find pleasure at the Olympic swimming-pool, located not far from the Saint-Germain-en-Laye Castle.
Horse riding will enable you to quietly and comfortably discover the surroundings thanks to equestrian trails, spread over 60km long.

Golf aficionados will find one of France most prestigious golf course. Established in the middle of a 74 hectares forest, and consisting in 2 courses. This golf knows how to make its visitors happy.

For amateurs, the city of Saint-Germain-en-Laye offers the possibility to travel through arts thanks to three museums. The National Archeology Museum, located within the Saint-Germain Castle, tracing over a million year of Man’s life since the origins to the Dark Ages.

The Claude Debussy Museum, unique permanent exposition space, devoted to one of the greatest French composer.
The Museum of Maurice Denis’ Garden is situated in the painter’s former house, gathers a collection of Maurice Denis works of art, surrounded by Gauguin, Bernard, Sérusier, Bonnard works of art.